top of page

Greenland by Tiina Itkonen

Les Pêcheries, Musée de Fécamp
7 October 2023 - 8 January 2024

 

It was in 1995 that the photographer set out to explore Greenland, and in particular the most northerly part of the territory. She returns there regularly, to the point where the region has become so familiar to her that she has now gathered material for several books and exhibitions. Very early on, she was captivated by the Inuit community, one of the few populations to live in the cold of this extreme north. The atmospheric conditions are severe, not to say hostile, requiring method and time to capture the images. The photographer combines an artistic approach that is both free and measured, with documentary concerns as a backdrop. Some of her work focuses on the activities of the region's inhabitants, such as hunting and fishing, and more generally on their way of life. But the exhibition also focuses on the particular nature of the region's landscapes, as well as on the layout of the habitat and urban environment - in other words, the expression of the human presence. However, behind the beauty of the sites, sublimated by the light and colour that Tiina Itkonen knows so well how to capture, lies a fragility: we can guess at the climate changes at work today. Inviting us to contemplate in this way implicitly invites us to reflect on the preservation of our priceless natural heritage. So this work has a message with many dimensions.

 

The exhibition brings together 37 photographs taken between 2002 and 2019, alternating landscapes and portraits, blending the imposing architecture of icebergs with modest dwellings in the middle of the snow. Most of the photographs are large-format prints. It is enriched by a tribute to the ethnologist Jean Malaurie, famous for his work on Greenland in the 1950s, whom Tiina Itkonen met in 2009.

 

A book published to coincide with the exhibition brings together various texts and interviews on the work of Tiina Itkonen, the historical links between the fishing port of Fécamp and Greenland, Nordic photographers and the Arctic, and a commentary by Jean Malaurie on the image of the Inuit.

http://tiinaitkonen.com/

tiina itkonen 1.jpg

Tiina Itkonen

Savissivik, 2002

Qeqertarsuaq, 2019_©Tiina_Itkonen copie.jpg

Tiina Itkonen

Qeqertarsuaq, 2019

Tiina Itkonen

Qaanaaq # 1, 2005

bottom of page

top of page

Le Groenland de Tiina Itkonen

Les Pêcheries, Musée de Fécamp
7 octobre 2023 – 8 janvier 2024

 

C’est en 1995 que la photographe entreprend d’explorer le Groenland et particulièrement la région la plus au nord de ce territoire. Elle y retourne régulièrement, au point que cette région lui est devenue familière et qu’elle a réuni aujourd’hui la matière de plusieurs ouvrages et expositions. Très tôt, elle est captivée par la communauté des Inuits, l’une des rares populations à vivre dans le froid de cet extrême nord. Les conditions atmosphériques sont sévères, pour ne pas dire hostiles, exigeant de la méthode et du temps pour réaliser les prises de vue. La photographe conjugue une approche artistique, à la fois libre et mesurée, avec, en toile de fond, des préoccupations d’ordre documentaire. Son regard porte pour une part sur les activités propres aux habitants de la région telles que la chasse et la pêche, et plus généralement leur mode de vie. Mais l’exposition privilégie également l’intérêt porté à la nature particulière des paysages de cette région ainsi qu’à l’aménagement de l’habitat et de l’environnement urbain, c’est-à-dire l’expression de la présence humaine. Cependant, derrière la beauté des sites, sublimée par la lumière et la couleur que Tiina Itkonen sait si bien capter, se cache une fragilité : on devine les changements climatiques à l’œuvre aujourd’hui. Nous inviter à une telle contemplation revient implicitement à solliciter une réflexion sur la préservation d’un inestimable patrimoine naturel. Ainsi, au travers de cette œuvre se profile un message aux multiples dimensions.

 

L’exposition rassemble 37 photographies réalisées entre 2002 et 2019, alternant paysages et portraits, mêlant les imposantes architectures des icebergs à de modestes habitats au milieu des neiges. L’ensemble est constitué pour l’essentiel de tirages en grand format. Il est enrichi d’un hommage à l’ethnologue Jean Malaurie, célèbre pour ses travaux sur le Groenland dans les années 1950, et que Tiina Itkonen a rencontré en 2009.

 

Un ouvrage publié à l’occasion de cette exposition réunit différents textes et entretiens sur le travail de Tiina Itkonen, les liens historiques entre le port de pêche de Fécamp et le Groenland, les photographes nordiques et l’Arctique, ainsi qu’un commentaire de Jean Malaurie sur les images des Inuits.

Les Pécheries, musée de Fécamp

http://tiinaitkonen.com/

tiina itkonen 1.jpg

Tiina Itkonen

Savissivik, 2002

Qeqertarsuaq, 2019_©Tiina_Itkonen copie.jpg

Tiina Itkonen

Qeqertarsuaq, 2019

Tiina Itkonen

Qaanaaq # 1, 2005

bottom of page